The Amy & Elliot Lawrence Collection

, ,
Open: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm

1334 York Avenue, NY 10021, New York, United States
Open: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm


Visit    

The Amy & Elliot Lawrence Collection

New York

The Amy & Elliot Lawrence Collection
Auction: Tue 24 May 2022
Exhibition: - Mon 23 May 2022
Mon-Fri 10am-5pm

urlhttp3A2F2Fsothebys-brightspot.s3.amazonaws.com2Fmedia-desk2Fb62F6e2F11a6a608461b9c1b5ff1a27882862Flawrence-banner-v2

On May 24, following the marquee modern and contemporary auctions in New York, Sotheby’s will offer the Collection of Amy & Elliot Lawrence. Beginning in the 1950s, the Lawrence’s formed a quintessentially American collection of pre-modern sculpture including classical African, Oceanic, and American Indian art, as well as Pre-Columbian, Southeast Asian, and classical Antiquities. Amy was a scholar, teacher, and therapist; Elliot was a famous bandleader in the late 40s and 50s, who went on to have a legendary career as a music director in TV and film. Together the Lawrence’s explored the world through collecting and assembled an eclectic but harmonious group of objects around the grand piano in their apartment on Central Park West.

 

For assistance with bidding and registration, please contact:

+1 212 606 7000

enquiries@sothebys.com

 

For all enquiries please contact:

 

Alexander Grogan

Vice President

Head of Department

Art of Africa, Oceania and the Americas

+1 212 894 1312

ALEXANDER.GROGAN@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Paul Lewis

Assistant Vice President, Specialist

Art of Africa, Oceania, and the Americas

+1 212 894 1312

PAUL.LEWIS@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Stacy Goodman

Consultant

Art of Africa, Oceania and the Americas

+1 212 894 1312

STACY.GOODMAN.CONSULTANT@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Allison Rabinowitz

Associate Specialist

Indian & South East Asian Art

+1 212 894 1603

ALLISON.RABINOWITZ@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Mark Hinton

Director, Head of Department

Japanese Works of Art

+44 20 7293 6537

MARK.HINTON@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Eleanor Jahrling

Administrator

Art of Africa, Oceania and the Americas

+1 212 894 2318

ELEANOR.JAHRLING@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

all images © the gallery and the artist(s)


more to explore:

 
 

By using GalleriesNow.net you agree to our use of cookies to enhance your experience. Close