The Orientalist Sale

, ,
Open: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm

34-35 New Bond Street, W1A 2AA, London, UK
Open: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm


Visit    

The Orientalist Sale

London

The Orientalist Sale
Auction: Tue 29 Mar 2022
Mon-Fri 10am-5pm

urlhttp3A2F2Fsothebys-brightspot.s3.amazonaws.com2Fmedia-desk2F3d2Ff02F47e5a97e423c8dbb27a788af93962Flion-in-the-desert-p528.2-banner

The Orientalist Sale represents the landscapes, people and cultures of North Africa, Egypt, the Levant, Arabia and the Ottoman world during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

 

In 2021, Sotheby’s sold over £6 million worth of Orientalist Art, of which 85% was to buyers from the Islamic world.

 

Our next sale will be a live auction held on 29 March alongside, and cross-marketed with, our Arts of the Islamic World sale. Already consigned to the sale are works by Jean-Léon Gérôme, Ludwig Deutsch, Alberto Pasini, and Rudolf Ernst.

 

Illustrated:

Jean-Léon Gérôme

Lion in the Desert

£30,000-50,000

 

Should you own Orientalist works you would like to sell in this buoyant market, please contact one of our specialists below.

 

For assistance with bidding and registration, please contact:

+44 20 7293 5283

bids.london@sothebys.com

 

For sale enquiries please contact:

 

Claude Piening

Senior Director

Senior Specialist

19th Century Continental Paintings

+44 20 7293 5658

CLAUDE.PIENING@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Mark Poltimore

Senior Director

Deputy Chairman, Europe

Business Development

+44 20 7293 5200

MARK.POLTIMORE@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Simon Toll

Senior Director

Senior Specialist

Victorian Paintings

+44 20 7293 5731

SIMON.TOLL@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Tessa Kostrzewa

Senior Director

Specialist

19th Century Continental Paintings

+44 20 7293 5382

TESSA.KOSTRZEWA@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Emma Gordon

Specialist

European Paintings & British Pictures

+ 44 20 7293 6018

EMMA.GORDON@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Harry Edmonds

Paintings Coordinator

European Paintings & British Pictures

+44 207 293 5479

HARRY.EDMONDS@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Charlotte Mattocks

Administrator

European Paintings & British Pictures

+ 44 207 293 6485

CHARLOTTE.MATTOCKS@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

all images © the gallery and the artist(s)


more to explore:

 
 

By using GalleriesNow.net you agree to our use of cookies to enhance your experience. Close