Modern Day Auction

, ,
Open: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm

1334 York Avenue, NY 10021, New York, United States
Open: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm


Visit    

Modern Day Auction

New York

Modern Day Auction
Auction: Wed 17 Nov 2021
Exhibition: - Tue 16 Nov 2021
Mon-Fri 10am-5pm

urlhttp3A2F2Fsothebys-brightspot.s3.amazonaws.com2Fmedia-desk2F052F0b2F5c90302a4009b717eceba1c139622F344n10787-c3sst-t1-02-banner

Sotheby’s Modern Day Auction will focus on works that capture the spirit of the various ways in which artists of the late 19th century and first half of the 20th century dared to challenge established norms of artistic practice to create a new and wholly modern vision of art. Ranging from Impressionism and Cubism to Abstract-Expressionism and the School of Paris, the Modern Day Auction spotlights these critical developments through the mid-20th century and will incorporate works by post-war artists to trace the origins and fulfillment of total abstraction. The first session of the sale unites these critical artistic movements and will be led by an exceptional collection of sculptures and jewelry by Alexander Calder from the Estate of Katherine Stillman, and the session also features work by artists such as Sam Francis, Willem de Kooning, Grace Hartigan, Wassily Kandinsky, Pablo Picasso, and Marc Chagall. Also in this session, we are proud to be offering Legendary Masters: A Series of Modern Masterworks by Wifredo Lam, Fernando Botero, Rufino Tamayo, Matta, Joaquín Torres-García and more from the storied collection of Tanya Brillembourg-Capriles. In the second session, the revolutionary spirit of the 1880s and early 1900s in France is represented by exceptional paintings by the Pointillist Charles Angrand and the Symbolist Henri Le Sidaner. Other Impressionist highlights include a vibrant Renoir still life and Monet’s Anémones from the famous series of doors he painted for the dealer Durand-Ruel.

 

For assistance with bidding and registration, please contact:

+1 212 606 7414

bids.newyork@sothebys.com

 

For all other enquiries please contact:

 

Frances Asquith

Senior Vice President

Head of Modern Day Auction

Impressionist & Modern Art

FRANCES.ASQUITH@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Scott Niichel

Senior Vice President

Head of Auctions

Modern & Contemporary Art 

SCOTT.NIICHEL@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Julia Leveille

Specialist

Impressionist & Modern Art

JULIA.LEVEILLE@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Nina Piro

Specialist

Impressionist & Modern Art

NINA.PIRO@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Peter Vergara

Associate Cataloguer & Online Sale Coordinator

Impressionist & Modern Art

PETER.VERGARA@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Talia Bush

Associate Cataloguer & Sale Coordinator

Impressionist & Modern Art

TALIA.BUSH@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Cindy Qian

Day Sale Administrator

Impressionist & Modern Art

CINDY.QIAN@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Anna di Stasi

Vice President

Director

Latin American Art

ANNA.DISTASI@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Emily Nice

Associate Specialist

Latin American Art

EMILY.NICE@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Nicole Schloss

Vice President

Head of Day Sale

Specialist

Contemporary Art

NICOLE.SCHLOSS@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Mercedes Lambarri Altamira

Specialist

Contemporary Art 

Mercedes.LambarriAltamira@sothebys.com

 

Emily Miles

Associate Specialist

Contemporary Art

EMILY.MILES@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Caroline Orr

Specialist

Contemporary Art

CAROLINE.ORR@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Lillian Chan

Associate Cataloguer

Contemporary Art

Lillian.chan@sothebys.com

 

Bobbie Sheng

Associate Cataloguer

Contemporary Art

BOBBIE.SHENG@sothebys.com

 

all images © the gallery and the artist(s)


Selected Lots


more to explore:

 
 

By using GalleriesNow.net you agree to our use of cookies to enhance your experience. Close