Impressionist, Modern & Contemporary Art | An Evening Sale

, ,
Open: By Appointment

1334 York Avenue, NY 10021, New York, USA
Open: By Appointment


Visit    

Impressionist, Modern & Contemporary Art | An Evening Sale

New York

Impressionist, Modern & Contemporary Art | An Evening Sale
Auction: Tue 8 Dec 2020
Exhibition: to Tue 8 Dec 2020
By Appointment

urlhttp3A2F2Fsothebys-brightspot.s3.amazonaws.com2Fmedia-desk2Ffe2F7a2F5419a3d44eaca9d666b244cafb282F005n10572-bqnql-02-banner

Sotheby’s is pleased to announce a new, cross-category auction which will bring together masterworks encompassing the most renowned artists from the late 19th century to the most in-demand contemporary artists working today. Highlighted by Pablo Picasso’s spectacular Buste de Femme Assisefrom 1962, a portrait of the artist’s wife and muse Jacqueline, the sale veers from figuration to abstraction with an almost contemporaneous work by Jean Dubuffet from the fabled l’Hourloupe cycle. A conceptual masterpiece by Glenn Ligon addressing issues of race and sexuality revels in its tactility, and is provided perfect counterbalance by Chaïm Soutine’s churning landscape from 1920. As a whole, the group of works included in this carefully curated auction tell the story of artistic progression over the last 150 years.

For assistance with bidding and registration, please contact:

+1 212 606 7414

bids.newyork@sothebys.com

For all enquiries please contact the Contemporary Art department at +1 212-606-7254 or the Impressionist & Modern Art department at +1 212-606-7360

Contemporary Art

Grégoire Billault

Senior Vice President

Head of Contemporary Art

Grégoire.Billault@sothebys.com

Amy Cappellazzo

Chairman, Executive Vice President

Fine Arts Division

Amy.Cappellazzo@sothebys.com

Leslie Prouty

Senior Vice President

Senior Specialist

Contemporary Art

Leslie.Prouty@sothebys.com

Michael Macaulay

Senior Vice President

Senior International Specialist

Contemporary Art

Michael.Macaulay@sothebys.com

Saara Pritchard

Senior Vice President

Senior Specialist

Contemporary Art

Saara.Pritchard@sothebys.com

David Galperin

Senior Vice President

Head of Evening Sale

Contemporary Art

David.Galperin@sothebys.com

c: +1 (347) 404 8805

Kelsey Leonard

Associate Specialist

Contemporary Art

Kelsey.Leonard@sothebys.com

c: +1 (505) 231 4960

Lucius Elliott

Associate Specialist

Contemporary Art

Lucius.Elliott@sothebys.com

c: +1 (646) 420 4644

Carly Gamson

Researcher

Contemporary Art

Carly.Gamson@sothebys.com

Impressionist & Modern Art

Julian Dawes

Senior Vice President

Head of Evening Sale

Impressionist & Modern Art

JULIAN.DAWES@SOTHEBYS.COM

Helena Newman

Chairman, Sotheby’s Europe

Worldwide Head of Department

Helena.Newman@sothebys.com

Simon Shaw

Vice Chairman, Fine Arts Division

Impressionist & Modern Art

SIMON.SHAW@SOTHEBYS.COM

Brooke Lampley

Vice Chairman, Fine Arts Division

Impressionist & Modern Art

BROOKE.LAMPLEY@SOTHEBYS.COM

Benjamin Doller

Chairman, Americas

Executive Vice President

Impressionist & Modern Art

BENJAMIN.DOLLER@SOTHEBYS.COM

Lucian Simmons

Vice Chairman

Provenance and Restitution

Senior Vice President, Senior Specialist, Impressionist & Modern Art

LUCIAN.SIMMONS@SOTHEBYS.COM

Scott Niichel

Senior Vice President

Co-Deputy Head of Department; Head of Day Sale

Impressionist & Modern Art

SCOTT.NIICHEL@SOTHEBYS.COM

Liz Sterling

Senior Vice President

Director of Private Sales

LIZ.STERLING@SOTHEBYS.COM

Edith Eustis

Vice President

Specialist and Senior Researcher

Impressionist & Modern Art

EDITH.EUSTIS@SOTHEBYS.COM

Yin Zhao

Vice President

Specialist and Asia Business Development

YIN.ZHAO@SOTHEBYS.COM

Anna DeFeo

Evening Sale Administrator

Impressionist & Modern Art

ANNA.DEFEO@SOTHEBYS.COM

Anna di Stasi

Vice President

Director

Latin American Art

ANNA.DISTASI@SOTHEBYS.COM

Andrea Zorrilla

Vice President

Specialist

Latin American Art

ANDREA.ZORRILLA@SOTHEBYS.COM

Emily Nice

Associate

Specialist

Latin American Art

EMILY.NICE@SOTHEBYS.COM

Please note that as of August 1st 2020, Overhead Premium, a fee payable by all auction buyers in our global salerooms and online sales, will be charged at 1% of the hammer price plus any applicable local taxes. It is an allocation of the overhead costs relating to our facilities, property handling and other administrative expenses. This fee and our Buyer’s Premium rates exclude local taxes and any applicable artist’s resale right.

all images © the gallery and the artist(s)


Selected Lots

more to explore:

 
 

By using GalleriesNow.net you agree to our use of cookies to enhance your experience. Close