Impressionist & Modern Art Evening Sale

, ,
Open: By Appointment

1334 York Avenue, NY 10021, New York Upper East Side, USA
Open: By Appointment


Visit    

Impressionist & Modern Art Evening Sale

New York

Impressionist & Modern Art Evening Sale
Auction: Mon 29 Jun 2020
Exhibition: to Mon 29 Jun 2020
By Appointment

urlhttps3A2F2Fsothebys-md.brightspotcdn.com2Fb42Fa42Fa1bc8acb4786b609ef6d5335ca372F273n10368-bj84r-banner-2

Sotheby’s Impressionist & Modern Art Evening Sale features a breathtaking selection of paintings, works on paper and sculpture by the most sought-after and revered artists of the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. The sale will be led by The Vanguard Spirit: Modern and Surrealist Masterworks from an Important Estate, a distinguished collection of museum-quality works from Latin America. This collection is anchored by Wifredo Lam’s Omi Obini, an electrifying canvas from 1943 considered the apex of Lam’s fully realized aesthetic vision. Women Surrealists are well-represented in the collection, notably by Remedios Varo’s Armonía and Microcosmos (or Determinismo), two outstanding examples of her signature fantastical imagery and complex narratives. Works by Leonora Carrington, Leonor Fini and Alice Rahon round out this exceptional group. 

29 June 2020 | New York | full auction details

Further highlights include Pablo Picasso’s radiant depiction of a sleeping Marie-Thérèse from 1934, offered by the David Lloyd Kreeger Foundation after having been in the collection since 1962. Two exciting Surrealist works from 1929 are also among the sale’s highlights—a vibrant portrait by Picasso and an enigmatic oil by René Magritte. The sale is enriched by a vibrant trio of works by Marc Chagall, including the dazzling Le Cirque vert from 1973, along with Paul Signac’s lush depiction of the famous Pine of Bertaud on the coast of Saint-Tropez.

For assistance with bidding and registration, please contact:

+1 212 606 7414

bids.newyork@sothebys.com

For all enquiries please contact the Impressionist & Modern Art department at +1 212-606-7360

Julian Dawes

Senior Vice President

Head of Evening Sale

Impressionist & Modern Art

JULIAN.DAWES@SOTHEBYS.COM

Simon Shaw

Vice Chairman, Fine Arts Division

Impressionist & Modern Art

SIMON.SHAW@SOTHEBYS.COM

Brooke Lampley

Vice Chairman, Fine Arts Division

Impressionist & Modern Art

BROOKE.LAMPLEY@SOTHEBYS.COM

Benjamin Doller

Chairman, Americas

Executive Vice President

Impressionist & Modern Art

BENJAMIN.DOLLER@SOTHEBYS.COM

Lucian Simmons

Vice Chairman

Provenance and Restitution

Senior Vice President, Senior Specialist, Impressionist & Modern Art

LUCIAN.SIMMONS@SOTHEBYS.COM

Scott Niichel

Senior Vice President

Co-Deputy Head of Department; Head of Day Sale

Impressionist & Modern Art

SCOTT.NIICHEL@SOTHEBYS.COM

Liz Sterling

Senior Vice President

Director of Private Sales

LIZ.STERLING@SOTHEBYS.COM

Edith Eustis

Vice President

Specialist and Senior Researcher

Impressionist & Modern Art

EDITH.EUSTIS@SOTHEBYS.COM

Yin Zhao

Vice President

Specialist and Asia Business Development

YIN.ZHAO@SOTHEBYS.COM

Anna DeFeo

Evening Sale Administrator

Impressionist & Modern Art

ANNA.DEFEO@SOTHEBYS.COM

Anna di Stasi

Vice President

Director

Latin American Art

ANNA.DISTASI@SOTHEBYS.COM

Andrea Zorrilla

Vice President

Specialist

Latin American Art

ANDREA.ZORRILLA@SOTHEBYS.COM

Emily Nice

Associate

Specialist

Latin American Art

EMILY.NICE@SOTHEBYS.COM

all images © the gallery and the artist(s)

more to explore:

 
 

By using GalleriesNow.net you agree to our use of cookies to enhance your experience. Close