Important Works from the Najd Collection, Part II

, ,
Open: temporary closure

34-35 New Bond Street, W1A 2AA, London West End, UK
Open: temporary closure


Visit    

Important Works from the Najd Collection, Part II

London

Important Works from the Najd Collection, Part II
Auction: Mon 8 Jun - Thu 11 Jun 2020
Exhibition: to Thu 11 Jun 2020
temporary closure

urlhttps3A2F2Fsothebys-md.brightspotcdn.com2F922Fbf2F118b05c147848bc180678a9d04732Fl20105-viking-banner

Sale L20105

8 – 11 June 2020 | London | full auction details

With the present Coronavirus situation, property shipment may be delayed and shipping costs may vary on a daily basis. We will do our best to secure shipping services at this time, but in the event of any delays your property will, of course, be stored free of charge.

 

Forming a panoptic picture of North African, Middle Eastern & Ottoman Society a century and more ago, the Najd Collection is the vision of one collector active in the 1980s. Eager to look beyond the confines of their own Western experience, all the artists represented travelled to and spent time in the region to portray first-hand what they saw and experienced. The legacy of their work has provided an invaluable documentary narrative of a world that has since been transformed by modernisation and, in some cases, conflict.

Following the market-defining sale of 40 works in October 2019, Sotheby’s is honoured to present a further 34 Orientalist paintings from the Najd Collection as an online auction running from the 8-11 June. 

Please note that the pre-sale exhibition will take place at Sotheby’s New Bond Street galleries from Friday 5th – Thursday 11th June, by appointment only. Should you wish to view the works in person please contact harry.edmonds@sothebys.com or telephone +44 207 293 5479.

 

For assistance with bidding and registration, please contact:

+44 207 293 5000 

enquiries@sothebys.com

 

For all enquiries please contact:

 

Claude Piening

Senior Director

Head of Department, London

19th Century European Paintings

+44 (0)20 7293 5658

CLAUDE.PIENING@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Mark Poltimore

Deputy Chairman, Europe

Chairman Sotheby’s, Russia

+44 20 7293 5200

MARK.POLTIMORE@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Benjamin Doller

Chairman, Americas

Executive Vice President

Impressionist & Modern Art

+1 212 606 7141

BENJAMIN.DOLLER@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Tessa Kostrzewa

Senior Director

Head of Sale

Senior Specialist

19th Century European Paintings

+44 20 7293 5382

TESSA.KOSTRZEWA@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Richard Lowkes

Deputy Director

Specialist

19th Century European Paintings

+44 20 7293 5477

RICHARD.LOWKES@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Benedetta Pedrana

Cataloguer

19th Century European Paintings

+44 20 7293 6206

BENEDETTA.PEDRANA@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Olivier Lefeuvre

Director

Head of Department

Senior Specialist

19th Century & Old Master Paintings

+33 1 5305 5324

OLIVIER.LEFEUVRE@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Mai Eldib

Egypt

Co-Head of Sale, Director

Modern and Contemporary Arab Art

MAI.ELDIB@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Katia Nounou

Director

Head of Office

Dubai

DUBAI@SOTHEBYS.COM

Beatrice Moller

Administrator

19th Century Paintings and Victorian Paintings

+44 (0) 20 7293 5732

BEATRICE.MOLLER@SOTHEBYS.COM 

Harry Edmonds

Department Assistant

19th Century European Paintings

+44 207 293 5479

HARRY.EDMONDS@SOTHEBYS.COM

all images © the gallery and the artist(s)


Selected Lots

more to explore:

 
 

By using GalleriesNow.net you agree to our use of cookies to enhance your experience. Close