Important Design

, ,
Open: By Appointment

1334 York Avenue, NY 10021, New York Upper East Side, USA
Open: By Appointment


Visit    

Important Design

New York

Important Design
Auction: Thu 30 Jul 2020
Exhibition: to Thu 30 Jul 2020
By Appointment

urlhttps3A2F2Fsothebys-md.brightspotcdn.com2F292Fbf2F36f9f102411d969b8a1307af2d552F011n10390-bhqt9-1

Sotheby’s Important Design sale presents a curated survey of Design from the last century, from elegant examples of French Art Nouveau and Art Deco to dynamic postwar and Contemporary Design. Leading the sale are the endearing sculptures Singe I and Singe II by François-Xavier Lalanne – two golden monkeys whose irresistible charisma distinguish them as quintessential icons within the artist’s œuvre. In addition to other masterworks by François-Xavier and Claude Lalanne, the sale features works by many European design masters including Jean Dunand, Jean-Michel Frank, Georges Jouve, Pierre Jeanneret and Jean Royère. A superb selection of French Art Deco furniture and objects from the esteemed collection of New York restauranteur Jean Denoyer is led by a rare “Fontane” Cabinet by Émile-Jacques Ruhlmann. The sale also presents an outstanding selection of leaded glass lamps and objects by Tiffany Studios, including a magnificent “Peony” Table Lamp on a rare “Arch and Leaf” base from the prestigious collection of Jeep and Carla Harned. Additional sale highlights include superlative American Studio works by George Nakashima, Paul Evans and Harry Bertoia, and a wide range of important Contemporary Design.

30 July 2020 | New York | full auction details

For assistance with bidding and registration, please contact:

+1 212 606 7000

enquiries@sothebys.com

 

For all enquiries please contact:

 

Jodi Pollack

Senior Vice President

Co-Worldwide Head of 20th Century Design

+1 212 606 7170

JODI.POLLACK@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Marine Hartogs

Vice President

Senior Specialist

20th Century Design

+1 212 606 7170

MARINE.HARTOGS@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Katherine Wallace

Assistant Vice President

Associate Specialist & Senior Researcher

20th Century Design

+1 212 606 7170

KATHERINE.WALLACE@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Louis Soulard

Associate Cataloguer

20th Century Design

+1 212 606 7170

LOUIS.SOULARD@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Lacey Thurmond

Client Liaison

20th Century Design

+1 212 606 7170

LACEY.THURMOND@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Benjamin Lew

Administrator

20th Century Design

+1 212 606 7170

BENJAMIN.LEW@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Antonia Klabin

Coordinator

20th Century Design

+1 212 606 7170

ANTONIA.KLABIN@SOTHEBYS.COM

all images © the gallery and the artist(s)

more to explore:

 
 

By using GalleriesNow.net you agree to our use of cookies to enhance your experience. Close