Important Design

, ,
Open: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm

1334 York Avenue, NY 10021, New York, United States
Open: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm


Visit    

Important Design

New York

Important Design
Auction: Wed 8 Dec 2021
Exhibition: - Tue 7 Dec 2021
Mon-Fri 10am-5pm

urlhttp3A2F2Fsothebys-brightspot.s3.amazonaws.com2Fmedia-desk2F152F022Fc46f040e4fc38aed9cfe4f62f5e62F061n10808-blv3d-t1-6-new

Sotheby’s Important Design sale presents a curated survey of Design from the last century, from notable examples of American Arts & Crafts and Molesworth furniture to outstanding pieces of Contemporary Design. The sale is anchored by a selection of important Italian glass and Art Deco furniture from the Brooklyn Museum, offered alongside exceptional pre-war pieces by Émile-Jacques Ruhlmann, Eugène Printz, Jean Dunand and Jean-Michel Frank. Further highlights include masterworks by Diego Giacometti, including a Porte-Manteaux au Hibou and a superb “Hommage à Böcklin” Console from the Collection of Jay I. Kislak. A chapter dedicated to Claude and François-Xavier Lalanne comprises some of the artists’ most celebrated forms, notably a Mouton de Laine and a Unique Choupatte. At the core of the mid-century American design section of the sale figures a unique “Sculpture-Front” Cabinet by Paul Evans from the Estate of Gabriele and Robert Lee, which complements important and rare works by Harry Bertoia, Wendell Castle and George Nakashima.

 

For assistance with bidding and registration, please contact:

+1 212 606 7414

bids.newyork@sothebys.com

 

For all enquiries please contact:

 

Jodi Pollack

Senior Vice President, Co-Worldwide Head, New York

+1 212 606 7170

jodi.pollack@sothebys.com

 

Marine Hartogs

Vice President Senior Specialist, New York

+1 212 606 7170

marine.hartogs@sothebys.com

 

Katherine Wallace

Assistant Vice President, Head of Sale, New York

+1 212 606 7170

katherine.wallace@sothebys.com

 

Louis Soulard

Associate Specialist, New York

+1 212 606 7170

louis.soulard@sothebys.com

 

Taryn Clary

Cataloguer

Taryn.Clary@sothebys.com

 

Adelle Bortz

Administrator

Adelle.Bortz@sothebys.com

 

all images © the gallery and the artist(s)


more to explore:

 
 

By using GalleriesNow.net you agree to our use of cookies to enhance your experience. Close