ICONS: Masterpieces from across time and space

, ,
Open: By Appointment

5/F One Pacific Place, 88 Queensway, Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Open: By Appointment


Visit    

ICONS: Masterpieces from across time and space

Hong Kong

ICONS: Masterpieces from across time and space
Auction: Sun 18 Apr 2021
Exhibition: - Sun 18 Apr 2021
By Appointment

urlhttp3A2F2Fsothebys-brightspot.s3.amazonaws.com2Fmedia-desk2F8c2F122F218837334dbda73b8835340e2f552Fhk1089-vikingbanner-2880x660-2

VIEW CATALOGUE | 瀏覽圖錄

What does it mean to be an icon? In the vast sweep of art history, the masterpieces that move us are those that hold up a mirror to ourselves. “ICONS: Masterpieces from across time and space” brings together works in which the central figure is one that is instinct to the beholder. Such art presents, to borrow a phrase from Iris Murdoch, the “‘memory’ of what we did not know we knew.” In the presence of icons, the feeling overtakes us to step beyond our ordinary awareness and find inspiration through fresh eyes.

古人評畫,嘗以「神品」謂之,表示藝術家刻劃事物達到了最高境界。

明代陶宗儀《輟耕錄》中敘畫一節將神品定義為: 「氣韻生動,出於天成,人莫窺其巧者,謂之神品。」

這些曠世傑作除了已臻化境的技巧之外,主題皆以「人」為本,以作品為鑑,反觀己身,思考人與世界萬物之間的連結。

「神品:超越時空的大師之作」打破地域、時代、媒材藩籬,帶給古今中外觀者一脈相承的、對美的悸動。

For assistance with bidding and registration, please contact:

enquiries@sothebys.com

+852 2524 8121

For all enquiries please contact:

Nicolas Chow | Nicolas.Chow@sothebys.com | +852 2822 8128

Senior Director, Chairman, Asia, Worldwide Head and Chairman of Chinese Works of Art

Julian King | Julian.King@sothebys.com | +852 2822 5518

Senior Director, International Specialist, Chinese Works of Art

Carrie Li | Carrie.Li@sothebys.com | +852 2822 8155

Senior Director, Senior Specialist, Chinese Works of Art

Sam Shum | Sam.Shum@sothebys.com | +852 2822 8125

Senior Director, Senior Specialist, Chinese Works of Art

Amethyst Chau | Amethyst.Chau@sothebys.com | +852 2822 8121

Director, Specialist, Chinese Works of Art

Vivian Tong | Vivian.Tong@sothebys.com | +852 2822 9027

Deputy Director, Head of Mid-Season Sales, Chinese Works of Art

Cristine Li | Cristine.Li@sothebys.com | +852 2822 8122

Deputy Director, Specialist, Chinese Works of Art

Gigi Yu | Gigi.Yu@sothebys.com | +852 2822 8135

Deputy Director, Specialist, Chinese Works of Art

Mizuka Seya | Mizuka.Seya@sothebys.com | +81 3 3230 2755

Deputy Director, Specialist, Chinese Works of Art, Japan

Ching Yi Huang | Chingyi.Huang@sothebys.com | +886 2 2757 6689

Deputy Director, Specialist, Chinese Works of Art

Felix Kwok | FELIX.KWOK@SOTHEBYS.COM | +852 2822 8195

Director, Head of Department, Modern Art, Asia

Joyce Chan | JOYCE.CHAN@SOTHEBYS.COM | +852 2822 5537

Director, Senior Specialist & Business Development Director, Modern Art, Asia



Jestina Tang | JESTINA.TANG@SOTHEBYS.COM | +852 2822 8197

Junior Specialist, Modern Art, Asia

Ziwei Yi | ZIWEI.YI@SOTHEBYS.COM | +852 2822 5542

Cataloguer, Modern Art, Asia

Gabe Chan | GABE.CHAN@SOTHEBYS.COM | +852 2822 5517

Cataloguer, Modern Art, Asia

Rishika Assomull | RISHIKA.ASSOMULL@SOTHEBYS.COM | +852 2822 5544

Deputy Director, Specialist, Modern Art, Asia

 

Michelle Yaw | MICHELLE.YAW@SOTHEBYS.COM | +65 6732 8239

Deputy Director, Specialist, Modern Art, Asia

Simon Stock | SIMON.STOCK@SOTHEBYS.COM | +44 207 293 5716

Senior Director, Senior Specialist Europe & Asia, Impressionist & Modern Art

Carmen Ip | CARMEN.IP@SOTHEBYS.COM | +852 2822 8132

Director, Head of Department, Chinese Paintings

Annie Wong | ANNIE.WONG@SOTHEBYS.COM | +852 2822 5504

Deputy Director, Specialist, Chinese Paintings

Charlie Shen | CHARLIE.SHEN@SOTHEBYS.COM | +852 2822 8154

Junior Cataloguer, Chinese Paintings

CK Cheung | CK.CHEUNG.CONSULTANT@SOTHEBYS.COM | +852 2822 8131

Senior Consultant, Chinese Paintings

Please note that as of August 1st 2020, Overhead Premium, a fee payable by all auction buyers in our global salerooms and online sales, will be charged at 1% of the hammer price plus any applicable local taxes. It is an allocation of the overhead costs relating to our facilities, property handling and other administrative expenses. This fee and our Buyer’s Premium rates exclude local taxes and any applicable artist’s resale right.

從2020年8月1日起,蘇富比的全球拍賣及所有網上拍賣將向買家加收營運附加費,本費用將按落槌價的1%及加上任何適用地方稅項收取。營運附加費涵蓋與設施、物品處理及其他行政費用相關的營運開支。本費用與買家酬金不包括地方稅項及任何適用之藝術家轉售權費用。

all images © the gallery and the artist(s)


Selected Lots

  • Alberto Giacometti 阿爾伯托・賈柯梅蒂 | Petit buste sur colonne 立柱上的半身小像

    Alberto Giacometti
    Alberto Giacometti 阿爾伯托・賈柯梅蒂 Petit buste sur colonne 立柱上的半身小像

    more details

  • A magnificent and extremely rare large wood sculpture of Avalokiteshvara, Song dynasty | 宋 木雕加彩觀世音菩薩坐像

    A magnificent and extremely rare large wood sculpture of Avalokiteshvara, Song dynasty 宋 木雕加彩觀世音菩薩坐像

    more details

  • Zhang Daqian, Self Portrait with a Tibetan Mastiff ︳張大千  自畫像與黑虎

    Zhang Daqian (Chang Dai-chien, 1899-1983)
    Zhang Daqian, Self Portrait with a Tibetan Mastiff ︳張大千 自畫像與黑虎

    more details

  • Sanyu 常玉 | Nu avec un pékinois 裸女與北京狗

    Sanyu
    Sanyu 常玉 Nu avec un pékinois 裸女與北京狗

    more details

  • Pablo Picasso 巴布羅・畢加索 | Buste de matador 鬥牛士

    Pablo Picasso
    Pablo Picasso 巴布羅・畢加索 Buste de matador 鬥牛士

    more details


more to explore:

 
 

By using GalleriesNow.net you agree to our use of cookies to enhance your experience. Close