From Japan with Love

, ,
Open: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm

34-35 New Bond Street, W1A 2AA, London, UK
Open: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm


Visit    

From Japan with Love

London

From Japan with Love
Auction: Thu 30 Sep - Wed 6 Oct 2021
Exhibition: - Wed 6 Oct 2021
Mon-Fri 10am-5pm

urlhttp3A2F2Fsothebys-brightspot.s3.amazonaws.com2Fmedia-desk2Fc62Fc42Fcd0f9b5448c99575eca93b41036b2Fl21168-2880x660-viking

This October, Sotheby’s London presents our second online sale dedicated to Contemporary prints, multiples, photographs and works on paper inspired by Contemporary Japanese culture.

Open for bidding from 5–12 October, this auction features works by Japan’s most internationally-acclaimed artists: Yoshitomo Nara, Takashi Murakami and Yayoi Kusama among other iconic creators who have each synthesised Japanese and Western popular culture with their own signature aesthetic.

In a striking contrast, the sale includes a curated selection of provocative, stark and visceral photographs from Japan’s most celebrated contemporary photographers: Nobuyoshi Araki, Rinko Kawauchi and Daido Moriyama.

Responding to the current appetite for these international artworld superstars, Sotheby’s is bringing the subcultures of otaku, anime, manga, kawaii and kinbaku to London, from Japan with love.

Consignments are still being accepted for this autumn auction; please contact the Prints Department for a complimentary valuation at no obligation.

Illustrated:

Takashi Murakami

Poporoke Forest

Sold for £5,292

Highlights Exhibition:

London, 1–6 October

For assistance with bidding and registration, please contact:

+44 207 293 5000 

enquiries@sothebys.com

For sale enquiries please contact:

Yessica Marks

Director

Interim Head of Department

Prints

+44 20 7293 5212

YESSICA.MARKS@SOTHEBYS.COM

Charlotte North

Deputy Director

Interim Deputy Head of Department

Specialist

Prints

+44 20 7293 5768

CHARLOTTE.NORTH@SOTHEBYS.COM

Jennifer Strotz

Associate Specialist

Prints

+ 44 207 293 6354

JENNIFER.STROTZ@SOTHEBYS.COM

Brandei Estes

Director

Head of Department

+44 207 293 5586

BRANDEI.ESTES@SOTHEBYS.COM

Justine Gruser

Deputy Director

Specialist

+44 20 7293 5896

JUSTINE.GRUSER@SOTHEBYS.COM

Irene Gonzalez

Junior Cataloguer

Prints/Photographs

+44 20 7293 5541

IRENE.GONZALEZ@SOTHEBYS.COM

Eleanor Cooke

Senior Administrator

Prints & Photographs

+44 20 7293 6570

ELEANOR.COOKE@SOTHEBYS.COM

Julia Paeslack

Department Assistant

Administrator

Prints

+44 20 7293 5668

JULIA.PAESLACK@SOTHEBYS.COM

all images © the gallery and the artist(s)


more to explore:

 
 

By using GalleriesNow.net you agree to our use of cookies to enhance your experience. Close