Fearless: The Collection of Hester Diamond Part II

, ,
Open: By Appointment

1334 York Avenue, NY 10021, New York, USA
Open: By Appointment


Visit    

Fearless: The Collection of Hester Diamond Part II

New York

Fearless: The Collection of Hester Diamond Part II
Auction: Fri 22 Jan - Fri 29 Jan 2021
Exhibition: to Fri 29 Jan 2021
By Appointment

urlhttp3A2F2Fsothebys-brightspot.s3.amazonaws.com2Fmedia-desk2Ffd2Fec2F0776a6134ed480bfce8520627f4d2F144n10610-xxxxx-3-banner2

Dynamic, unpredictable, and incomparable, Hester Diamond was a fearless and visionary collector. Whether through the expressive qualities of the paintings and sculpture in her apartment, the electric colors of her furniture, or in the mesmerizing patterns of the textiles she chose, each piece in her collection personifies Hester’s distinct vision and the freedom that came with being true to herself. The ability to pursue her passions with such conviction and clarity propelled Hester to build an extraordinary career as a venerated art dealer and interior designer, and to assemble important collections of Old Master paintings and sculpture, contemporary furniture, minerals, and more. The ease in which Hester displayed art and objects across time periods demonstrated the frivolity of artificial barriers imposed among collecting categories, and she proved that they could be broken and lived with comfortably.

Fearless: The Collection of Hester Diamond Part II features Hester’s extensive collection of exquisite minerals alongside Beastie Boys memorabilia, modern design pieces signature to her vibrant style, and an assortment of Old Master paintings and sculpture books that lined Hester’s floor to ceiling bookcases, offering a glimpse into the vast art historical knowledge that she forever chased. Kindly note that all of the seller’s proceeds from the Beastie Boys memorabilia lots offered in N10612 will benefit the Good Eats Program. (www.goodeatsprogram.org)

Following the guidelines for the Phase Four reopening of Manhattan, we are able to accommodate clients in our building by appointment only. The exhibition for this sale will open on 23 January and will close on Friday, January 29th at 5:00 PM. To schedule an appointment please click here or contact appointmentsNY@sothebys.com or +1 212 606 7171. You can read more about our safety requirements here.

For assistance with bidding and registration, please contact:

+1 212 606 7000

enquiries@sothebys.com 

Department Contacts:

Minerals

Alexander Eblen

Vice President, Senior Specialist

Jewelry

+1 212 606 7392

alexander.eblen@sothebys.com

Cassandra Hatton

Vice President, Senior Specialist

Books & Manuscripts

Science & Technology

+1 212-894-2342

cassandra.hatton@sothebys.com

Barbara Waginski

Project Manager

Jewelry

+1 212 606 7392

barbara.waginski@sothebys.com

20th Century Design

Marine Hartogs

Vice President, Specialist

+1 212 606 7170

marine.hartogs@sothebys.com

Taryn Clary

Cataloguer

+1 212 606 7170

taryn.clary@sothebys.com

Adelle Bortz

Administrator

+1 212 606 7170

adelle.bortz@sothebys.com

Memorabilia

Richard Austin

Senior Vice President

Head of Books & Manuscripts Department

+1 212 894 1642

richard.austin@sothebys.com 

Lucy Finn

Sale Coordinator

+1 212 606 7385

lucy.finn@sothebys.com

European Sculpture and Works of Art books

Old Master Paintings books

Lily Bua

Administrator

+1 212 606 7206

lily.bua@sothebys.com

General Enquiries

Kathleen Smith

Sale Administrator

+1 212-606-7392

kathleen.smith@sothebys.com

Please note that as of August 1st 2020, Overhead Premium, a fee payable by all auction buyers in our global salerooms and online sales, will be charged at 1% of the hammer price plus any applicable local taxes. It is an allocation of the overhead costs relating to our facilities, property handling and other administrative expenses. This fee and our Buyer’s Premium rates exclude local taxes and any applicable artist’s resale right.

all images © the gallery and the artist(s)


Selected Lots

more to explore:

 
 

By using GalleriesNow.net you agree to our use of cookies to enhance your experience. Close