European & British Art, Part I

, ,
Open: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm

34-35 New Bond Street, W1A 2AA, London, UK
Open: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm


Visit    

European & British Art, Part I

London

European & British Art, Part I
Auction: Wed 13 Jul 2022
Mon-Fri 10am-5pm

urlhttp3A2F2Fsothebys-brightspot.s3.amazonaws.com2Fmedia-desk2Fe42F092Fff3b676143aa9feaaa15a95616b92Fl22105-c48gb-01a-t1-banner

This July, the European & British Art Department are excited to be offering two dedicated sales.

 

Our Part I sale on 13 July will be tightly curated, offering the very best examples of works from schools and movements across Britain and Continental Europe. Sotheby’s have the world record prices at auction for many of the top artists from this period including Vilhelm Hammershøi, Harald Sohlberg, Joaquín Sorolla, Dante Gabriel Rossetti, John Atkinson Grimshaw and James Tissot.

 

In December 2021, we set a new world record for Norwegian modernist Harald Sohlberg selling The Old Captain’s House, Winter Afternoon from 1909 for £2,677,000.

 

We will also be holding a Part II, timed sale which will be open for bidding from 7-13 July with our regular offerings from across the breadth of nineteenth and early twentieth century Europe.

 

Should you wish to consign to one of our sales, please do not hesitate to contact one of our Specialists listed below.

 

Illustrated:

 

(Top Banner image)

Sir George Clausen, R.A., R.W.S., R.I.

The Visit

£250,000-350,000

 

(Calendar Listing)

Vilhelm Hammershøi

The White Door and the Golden Cupboard, 1886

£100,000-150,000

 

For assistance with bidding and registration, please contact:

+44 20 7293 5283

bids.london@sothebys.com

 

For sale enquiries please contact:

 

Claude Piening

Senior Director

Senior Specialist

19th Century European Paintings

+44 20 7293 5658

CLAUDE.PIENING@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Simon Toll

Senior Director

Senior Specialist

Victorian Paintings

+44 20 7293 5731

SIMON.TOLL@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Tessa Kostrzewa

Senior Director

Specialist

19th Century European Paintings

+44 20 7293 5382

TESSA.KOSTRZEWA@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Emma Gordon

Specialist

European Paintings & British Pictures

+ 44 20 7293 6018

EMMA.GORDON@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Mark Poltimore

Senior Director

Deputy Chairman, Europe

Business Development

+44 20 7293 5200

MARK.POLTIMORE@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Harry Edmonds

Paintings Coordinator

European Paintings & British Pictures

+44 207 293 5479

HARRY.EDMONDS@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Charlotte Mattocks

Administrator

European Paintings & British Pictures

+ 44 207 293 6485

CHARLOTTE.MATTOCKS@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

all images © the gallery and the artist(s)


more to explore:

 
 

By using GalleriesNow.net you agree to our use of cookies to enhance your experience. Close