European Art: Paintings & Sculpture

, ,
Open: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm

34-35 New Bond Street, W1A 2AA, London West End, UK
Open: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm


Visit    

European Art: Paintings & Sculpture

London

European Art: Paintings & Sculpture
Auction: Fri 12 Jun - Thu 18 Jun 2020
Exhibition: to Thu 18 Jun 2020
Mon-Fri 10am-5pm

urlhttps3A2F2Fsothebys-md.brightspotcdn.com2F4b2F7d2Ff8a2d6ab4efeb768cac919f947462F20471910-oo-l20107-c19-euroart-viking-1440x330-1

Sale L20107

12 – 18 June 2020 | London | full auction details

Online Auction: 12-18 June

We are pleased to share with you that in June this year the 19th Century European Paintings, European Sculpture and Victorian Art Departments will be holding an exciting new online sale combining paintings, drawings and sculpture from each of the departments. The aim is to showcase the unity between Britain and continental Europe in the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. We shall highlight this period of great upheaval and innovation through a series of curated themes, such as depictions of the human and animal anatomy, the changing modern landscape, mythological and contemporary narratives, portraiture and allegory. We will offer works from schools and movements ranging from Orientalist to Barbizon and Academic to Pre-Raphaelite in both the spheres of Pictures and Sculpture. This exciting sale will bring together the knowledge and enthusiasm of our experts to expand the understanding of European art in a wider context.

For 276 years Sotheby’s has remained the most famous and successful auction house in the world by adapting and evolving. In recent years, Sotheby’s has invested heavily in our online capabilities so that we can innovate and react to change, offering our clients a dynamic auction experience. While the present unprecedented circumstances have changed the way many of us are living presently, it has not dulled the appreciation of beauty, history and rarity that can be found in collecting fine art. Sotheby’s has seen a dramatic increase in visits to our website and engagement with collectors, resulting in highly successful online sales since the beginning of 2020.

 

We are inviting consignments for this new sale up until 15 May and would be very happy to advise you on your property if you are able to send photographs and details to the specialists.

REQUEST AN ESTIMATE

Illustrated:

Antonio Botinelli

Aria (Air)

Estimate £100,000–150,000

Sir Alfred Munnings

Springtime, Apple Blossom with a Mare and Foal, 1906

Estimate £80,000–120,000

Eduard Gaertner

View of Moscow, 1840

Estimate £200,000–300,000

For assistance with bidding and registration, please contact:

+44 207 293 5000 

enquiries@sothebys.com

For sale enquiries please contact:

19TH CENTURY EUROPEAN PAINTINGS

Claude Piening

Senior Director

Head of Department

19th Century European Paintings

+44 20 7293 5658

CLAUDE.PIENING@SOTHEBYS.COM

Tessa Kostrzewa

Senior Director

Specialist

19th Century European Paintings

+44 20 7293 5382

TESSA.KOSTRZEWA@SOTHEBYS.COM

Richard Lowkes

Deputy Director

Specialist

19th Century European Paintings

+44 20 7293 5477

RICHARD.LOWKES@SOTHEBYS.COM

Benedetta Pedrana

Cataloguer

19th Century European Paintings

+44 20 7293 6206

BENEDETTA.PEDRANA@SOTHEBYS.COM

Mark Poltimore

Senior Director

Deputy Chairman, Europe

Business Development

+44 20 7293 5200

MARK.POLTIMORE@SOTHEBYS.COM

VICTORIAN, PRE-RAPHAELITE & BRITISH IMPRESSIONIST ART

Simon Toll

Senior Director

Head of Department

Victorian Paintings

+44 20 7293 5731

SIMON.TOLL@SOTHEBYS.COM

19TH CENTURY EUROPEAN SCULPTURE

Alex Kader

Senior Director

Co-Worldwide Head of Department

European Sculpture & Work of Art

+44 20 7293 5493

ALEX.KADER@SOTHEBYS.COM

Christopher Mason

Director

Head of Auction Sales

European Sculpture & Work of Art

+44 20 7293 6062

CHRISTOPHER.MASON@SOTHEBYS.COM

Elisabeth Banfield

Specialist

European Sculpture & Work of Art

+44 20 7293 5745

ELISABETH.BANFIELD@SOTHEBYS.COM

Merel Deinema

Cataloguer

European Sculpture & Work of Art

+44 20 7293 5304

MEREL.DEINEMA@SOTHEBYS.COM

SALE ADMINISTRATOR

Beatrice Moller

Administrator

Victorian Paintings

+44 207 293 5732

BEATRICE.MOLLER@SOTHEBYS.COM

GENERAL ENQUIRIES

Harry Edmonds

Department Assistant

19th Century European Paintings

+44 207 293 5479

HARRY.EDMONDS@SOTHEBYS.COM

all images © the gallery and the artist(s)

more to explore:

 
 

By using GalleriesNow.net you agree to our use of cookies to enhance your experience. Close