British Art: Modern/Contemporary

, ,
Open: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm

34-35 New Bond Street, W1A 2AA, London, UK
Open: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm


Visit    

British Art: Modern/Contemporary

London

British Art: Modern/Contemporary
Auction: Tue 29 Jun 2021
Mon-Fri 10am-5pm

urlhttp3A2F2Fsothebys-brightspot.s3.amazonaws.com2Fmedia-desk2F032F282Fb503c3534324ad77042f8fb0d4362Fl21010-2880x660-viking-lanyon

This summer, Sotheby’s is delighted to launch a special exhibition and marquee live-streamed sale celebrating the best of British art over the course of the last century. Works by established titans with international renown will be offered alongside beloved British masters primed to make their mark on a global stage.

The eight-day pre-sale exhibition will be specially designed to welcome back the public to Sotheby’s galleries, with a host of gallery tours and talks spotlighting the important contribution and achievements of British artists over the last century. Sotheby’s has a long tradition of bringing to the market exceptional collections of British Art (including those of David Bowie, Howard Hodgkin, Frank Dunphy, Wilfrid Evill, Lord Attenborough and Stanley Seeger) all of which have captured the imagination of collectors and enthusiasts alike.

The new sale will showcase works by the greatest names in British Art, whilst also shining a spotlight on those who may be less well known in the international arena. Among the highlights set for the sale is Going to the Match by L.S. Lowry, one of Britain’s most distinctive and celebrated painters of the 20th century. An early masterpiece and the first known painting by Lowry to depict a sporting crowd – one of his most iconic subjects – the painting will be making its first public appearance in over 50 years.

 

Image:

Peter Lanyon

Rising Air, 1961

Estimate £400,000–600,000

Highlights Exhibitions:

 

New York | 8–12 & 21–25 May

London | 22–29 June

Sotheby’s Brexit Update

For assistance with bidding and registration, please contact:

+44 207 293 5000 

enquiries@sothebys.com

For sale enquiries please contact:

Frances Christie

Senior Director

Modern British and Irish Art

+44 20 7293 5575

Frances.Christie@sothebys.com

Helena Newman

Chairman, Sotheby’s Europe

Worldwide Head of Department

Impressionist & Modern Art

+44 20 7293 5397

Helena.Newman@sothebys.com

Oliver Barker

Senior Director, Chairman, Europe

Contemporary Art

+44 20 7293 5000

Oliver.Barker@sothebys.com

Bryn Sayles

Director, Head of Sale

Modern British and Irish Art

+44 20 7293 5560

Bryn.Sayles@sothebys.com

Charlie Minter

Director, Specialist

Modern British and Irish Art

+44 20 7293 5925

Charlie.Minter@sothebys.com

Thomas Podd

Deputy Director, Specialist

Modern British and Irish Art

+44 (0)20 7293 5497

Thomas.Podd@sothebys.com

Julia Fischel

Specialist

Modern British and Irish Art

+44 207 293 5051

Julia.Fischel@sothebys.com

Emma Baker

Director

Head of Evening Sale

Contemporary Art

+44 20 7293 5569

Emma.Baker@sothebys.com

Tom Eddison

Director, Specialist

Contemporary Art

+44 20 7293 5782

Tom.Eddison@sothebys.com

Simon Stock

Senior Director, Senior Specialist, Europe and Asia

Impressionist & Modern Art

+44 207 293 5716

Simon.Stock@sothebys.com

Thomas Boyd-Bowman

Director

Head of Evening Sales

Impressionist & Modern Art

+44 20 7293 5789

Thomas.Boyd-Bowman@sothebys.com

all images © the gallery and the artist(s)


Selected Lots


more to explore:

 
 

By using GalleriesNow.net you agree to our use of cookies to enhance your experience. Close