BERTOIA: The Sonambient Barn Collection

, ,
Open: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm

1334 York Avenue, NY 10021, New York, United States
Open: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm


Visit    

BERTOIA: The Sonambient Barn Collection

New York

BERTOIA: The Sonambient Barn Collection
Auction: Tue 7 Dec 2021
Exhibition: - Tue 7 Dec 2021
Mon-Fri 10am-5pm

urlhttp3A2F2Fsothebys-brightspot.s3.amazonaws.com2Fmedia-desk2F9d2Ff52F3d1489d04fd28b21b506f316b2b92F181bertoia-xxxxx-banner

Sotheby’s is honored to offer outstanding works from Harry Bertoia’s legendary Sonambient Barn Collection. This landmark auction event presents a selection of Sonambient sculptures from Bertoia’s own personal collection that represent the most superlative examples from this iconic series—those which the artist retained for their exceptional tonal and aesthetic qualities. Collectively, they are the “Sonambient”—Bertoia’s term for the sound environment the sculptures create together. It is the culmination of Bertoia’s life’s work, fulfilling his aspiration to achieve transcendence through the integration of form, sound, space, and nature. On behalf of the Bertoia family and Harry Bertoia Foundation, it is our privilege to present this seminal collection by one of America’s most revered and innovative artists of the 20th Century. Proceeds from this auction will benefit the Bertoia Catalogue Raisonné Project.

 

For assistance with bidding and registration, please contact:

+1 212 606 7414

bids.newyork@sothebys.com

 

For all enquiries please contact:

 

Jodi Pollack

Senior Vice President, Co-Worldwide Head, New York

+1 212 606 7170

jodi.pollack@sothebys.com

 

Marine Hartogs

Vice President Senior Specialist, New York

+1 212 606 7170

marine.hartogs@sothebys.com

 

Katherine Wallace

Assistant Vice President, Head of Sale, New York

+1 212 606 7170

katherine.wallace@sothebys.com

 

Louis Soulard

Associate Specialist, New York

+1 212 606 7170

louis.soulard@sothebys.com

 

Taryn Clary

Cataloguer

Taryn.Clary@sothebys.com

 

Adelle Bortz

Administrator

Adelle.Bortz@sothebys.com

 

all images © the gallery and the artist(s)


more to explore:

 
 

By using GalleriesNow.net you agree to our use of cookies to enhance your experience. Close