Belle Époque Splendor: The Discerning Eye of a Collector

, ,
Open: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm

1334 York Avenue, NY 10021, New York, United States
Open: Mon-Fri 10am-5pm


Visit    

Belle Époque Splendor: The Discerning Eye of a Collector

New York

Belle Époque Splendor: The Discerning Eye of a Collector
Auction: Wed 25 May 2022
Exhibition: - Wed 25 May 2022
Mon-Fri 10am-5pm

urlhttp3A2F2Fsothebys-brightspot.s3.amazonaws.com2Fmedia-desk2F642Fa82Faa524d4f4a4290d55e0a4e87f8972F003n10991-c38mj-t2-02-a-banner4

Spanning the years between the end of France’s Second Empire (1852-1870) and the beginning of World War I (1914), the Belle Époque was an era characterized by growing economic prosperity, rapid urban development, and increased social mobility in cities across Europe and the United States. A center for fine art, shopping, and theater, as well as the international fashion capital, Paris was also where the world’s luminaries and literati flocked to see and be seen. Artists such as Jean Béraud, Giovanni Boldini, Pierre Carrier-Belleuse, Henri Gervex, and Paul-César Helleu captured the era’s iconic places and famous personalities; they painted boulevards, boisterous cafes, public gardens, and galleries at the Louvre, among other locales. An exceptional full-length portrait by Boldini leads this single-owner sale, which features fashionable portraits, scenes of modern life, and Salon-exhibited paintings by the leading artists working at the close of the 19th century and ushered in a new Gilded Age.

 

For assistance with bidding and registration, please contact:

+1 212 606 7000

ENQUIRIES@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

For all enquiries please contact:

 

Kathryn Kremnitzer, PhD

Associate Vice President, Specialist

19th Century European Paintings 

+1 212 894 1532

KATHRYN.KREMNITZER@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Margaret H. Schwartz

Senior Vice President, Co-Worldwide Head

European Sculpture & Works of Art

+1 212 606 7406

MARGI.SCHWARTZ@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Benjamin Doller

Chairman, Americas

Executive Vice President

Impressionist & Modern Art

+1 212 606 7141

BENJAMIN.DOLLER@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Claude Piening

Senior Director, Senior Specialist

19th Century European Paintings

+44 20 7293 5658

CLAUDE.PIENING@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Mark Poltimore

Senior Director

Deputy Chairman, Europe

Business Development

+44 20 7293 5200

MARK.POLTIMORE@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Simon Toll

Senior Director, Senior Specialist

19th Century British Art

+44 20 7293 5731

SIMON.TOLL@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Tessa Kostrzewa

Senior Director, Specialist

19th Century Continental Paintings

+44 20 7293 5382

TESSA.KOSTRZEWA@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Olivier Lefeuvre

Director, Senior Specialist

Old Master and 19th Century European Paintings

+33 1 5305 5324

OLIVIER.LEFEUVRE@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Alex Kaplan

Administrator

19th Century European Paintings, European Works of Art  

+1 212 606 7489

ALEX.KAPLAN@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Alexander Kader, FSA

Co Worldwide Head of Department

European Sculpture and Works of Art

+44 20 7293 5493

ALEX.KADER@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

Christopher Mason

Head of Sale

European Sculpture and Works of Art

+44 20 7293 6062

CHRISTOPHER.MASON@SOTHEBYS.COM

 

all images © the gallery and the artist(s)


more to explore:

 
 

By using GalleriesNow.net you agree to our use of cookies to enhance your experience. Close